At the weekend, I had a game of Warhammer Underworlds: Direchasm with my mate James, who is starting a Slaves to Darkness army and had picked up Khagra’s Ravagers. We’d talked about the game last year, which is what kinda prompted me to investigate all of the boxes that I have lying around, so it was nice to finally have a proper game with it!
Well, I say “proper” game; neither of us was really that sure of the rules, so we spent a long time trying to figure things out! One of the most critical aspects of the game was also a bit of a mystery to us until the third round, as well! See, we were playing it where each fighter had an activation, so it was getting quite baffling when we were talking about situations where fighters could potentially move and shoot – how could that happen, if they’ve already activated? Well, near the start of round three, and after a quick google search, it dawned on me – the player has four activations, not the fighter, so you can activate a single fighter multiple times if you so wish!
How foolish we were!
I think we were also both quite impressed by how tactical the third round became. We’d very much just moved a bit and had a bit of a scrap in the middle, and over the course of the first two rounds, I’d managed to score two objectives, and James had taken two of my fighters out of action, so we were tied on two Glory each. However, two of his fighters only had one hit point left, so if I was able to kill then both, I’d win. If I did nothing, he would win for having more fighters on the board. It suddenly became quite tense, especially when I was unable to kill anything! As it turned out, James was also able to score an objective because all of his fighters were Inspired, so he won 3-2 regardless, but it was funny how the game had been quite nice and free-flowing until that last round, when suddenly things started to really matter!!
All in all, it was a really fun game, even if I did lose, and it’s got me thinking once again about trying to play it some more. I only have the first four boxes, but I think we’re on season 7 or something now – I don’t see myself getting back into it very much, but I would like to see if I can perhaps pick up some more of the Direchasm stuff while it’s still out in the wild. Especially if the Bonereapers warband shows up anywhere, as I think those models would be quite good for my larger army, if nothing else!!
I’ve done a tiny bit of tinkering with my deck, ahead of any potential future games, as I had been using the “starter” Lumineth deck from the box. I don’t have a great deal from Direchasm, though, so there isn’t a lot of scope (unlike my collection from Nightvault).
But anyway, it’s something that I hope that we can play some more, going forward!